Loading Loading
Mississippi State Treasurer Lynn Fitch Mississippi State Treasurer Lynn Fitch


We so are excited to be hosting yet another scholarship opportunity for Mississippians.  The Race to College contest will be held during the Mississippi High School Activities Association (MHSAA) State Baseball Championships at Trustmark Park on May 17-18, 2018. Two contestants will be randomly chosen from entrants to participate in each race. Each contestant will race to designated stations to submit a mock 529 college savings account application, deposit funds into their 529 account, put on a backpack to go to college, and finally receive their cap and gown to run back to the starting line. The first to finish each relay will win a $529 MACS scholarship.  Visit the College Savings Mississippi table, on the concourse, prior to the 3rd inning of each game for your chance to compete . We can't wait to see you there!

                        College Savings Mississippi 2018 Art Contest Winners                          

This year, College Savings Mississippi sponsored its fifth annual art contest, offering over $3,500 in MACS (Mississippi Affordable College Savings) scholarships as prizes. We received over 1,300 entries, making it our most successful art contest yet. 

We are so pleased to announce this year's winners:

Pre-K – 2 nd Grade
1 st Place: Sawyer Robinson, 2 nd Grade, Union Elementary 
2 nd Place: Marley’ Rose Martin, Kindergarten, Galloway Elementary
3 rd Place: Cecilia Duhon, 1 st Grade, Benedict Day School

3 rd – 5 th Grade
1 st Place: Bailee Jones, 4 th Grade, Union Elementary
2 nd Place: Chloe Cooper, 5 th Grade, Union Middle
3 rd Place: LaCee Bishop, 5 th Grade, Union Middle

6 th – 8 th Grade
1 st Place: Bella Jeter, 7 th Grade, New Albany Middle
2 nd Place: Jaslyn Moy, 7 th Grade, Germantown Middle
3 rd Place: Aubri Sparkman, 6 th Grade, Homeschool

9 th – 12 th Grade
1 st Place: Yu Hyun Jaca Oh, 12 th Grade, Cedar Lake Christian Academy
2 nd Place: Ashley Thurman, 10 th Grade, Forest Hill High School
3 rd Place: Reggi Pech, 12 th Grade, Clarkdale High School

All four first place winners will receive $529 in MACS scholarships. The second place winners will receive $250 scholarships and the third place winners will receive $100 scholarships. We asked them to depict their hopes and dreams for their future in their artwork. These prizes will help them reach those goals through education.

In addition, we gave a MACS scholarship to the teacher with the most entries to be awarded as she sees fit. This year, that prize goes to Christy Bievenour, an art teacher at Woolmarket Elementary with 95 entries. We are so grateful to Ms. Bievenour and all the Mississippi teachers who inspire our children daily to fulfill their dreams.

We would like to thank our four guest judges who had the difficult task of reviewing all the great artwork submitted this year: Limeul Eubanks, Ricky Nobile, Charlotte Smelser, and Herbert Mays. Eubanks works in the Arts and World Languages office at the Mississippi Department of Education. Nobile is a cartoonist and caricature artist whose works you may have seen in the Mississippi Business Journal and many Mississippi newspapers. Smelser is the Arts Education Director at the Mississippi Arts Commission. Mays is a professional portrait painter. 

The quality of the artwork was tremendous and made for some difficult judging. All our participants should be very proud of their entries.

BeFunky Collage.jpg